More grannies

Another night of tossing and turning, wrestling with the duvet, punching the pillow, staring at the ceiling then eventually giving up and getting out of bed.

No veggies to chop for soup this time, so I’ve decided to get on with the blanket I’m making for summer.  I find that even the lightweight duvet I have can be too warm for me in summer, but last year I made a crochet blanket in DK and it was just right for me.  So, since I seem to have amassed a fair few bits of left over yarn again I decided to make another one.

Nothing fancy, just granny squares, 10 rounds on a 4mm hook.  Something simple I can just whiz through while watching Netflix.  I think I take that from my mother.  I can’t recall a time when she wasn’t knitting while watching television, only occasionally glancing down at her knitting pattern as the needles clickity clicked away.  I’m not as good as her.  Even with crochet I still have to focus more on what I’m doing rather than what I’m watching.  It’s a good job I don’t mind watching movies I’ve already seen 🙂

The squares don’t have a specific order for the colours, and they are not all coordinating, but at the end of the day this blanket, like the one before it, are not about style, they are about practicality.  Keeping me warm without being too warm.

Blankets

I would possibly be cheaper just buying a blanket, but I take pleasure (and a small amount of pride) in knowing that I have made the blankets I’ll be using.  I doubt if they will last me through to old age, but then again you never know!

Leave a Reply

