By the seaside, beside the sea

Been out on my travels again, if you can call it that.  I’ve been for a couple of walks in the local area during the past week to make the most of what little remains of our summer, and of course to get a few more practice shots in  🙂

I love living by the seas, always a great excuse to get out with the camera.  So first I went to Saltcoats for a stroll along the promenade.  I took my daughter for company, and we sat eating our lunch (sandwiches from my work) by the old anchor like a right pair of old biddies lol.

Saltcoats Anchor

Once we were watered and fed I got the camera out to take some photos of our feathered friends who joined us to share our lunch.

Going For a Stroll Resting Gull Flock of Seagulls Standing Gull

We passed a group of birds taking a bath, and I wanted to get a shot of them.  As I clicked the camera a couple of kids jumped down from the wall and startled the birds.  Luckily I had the camera set on continuous shooting, so by the end of it I had managed to catch them just as they took to flight, which all in all probably made for a better photo!

Taking to Flight

My daughter decided to have a seat while I wandered around the edges of what used to be the boating pond looking for anything interesting to photograph.  I took a few shots of random stuff, but as I strolled back towards her I saw the perfect opportunity to get a photo of her where she’s not “posing”.  I love her to bits but she is such a born poser lol, which is weird since I’m really camera shy.  I think this could easily be one of my favourite photos of that day, and of her.

Deep in Thought

We walked up past the war memorial, and all the way along to the old church at the end of the promenade.

War Memorial

I did take a couple of shots of the church as well but I wasn’t overly impressed with them, certainly not enough to share them.

I’ll tell you about our other walk later x

Leave a Reply

