Visit to Whitelee Windfarm

I was at Whitelee Windfarm for a bit of a day out with my boyfriend recently, and me being me I had my camera with me.

Turbine No40.  "110 meters, equal to a 36-storey building"

Turbine No40. “110 meters, equal to a 36-storey building”

I have wanted to be up close and personal with a wind turbine for a while now, so I was thrilled at his unprompted suggestion to go there for a visit.  I only wish I had gotten him to take a pic of me standing next to one.  Maybe another time.

The clouds turned out better than the turbines, but I still like this photo.

The clouds turned out better than the turbines, but I still like this photo.

Here is a link to the windfarm website, and a little info taken from the site for those interested in renewable energy…

“Whitelee is the UK’s largest onshore windfarm, located on Eaglesham Moor just 20 minutes from central Glasgow. Its 215 turbines generate up to 539 megawatts of electricity, enough to power just under 300,000 homes.”

I have to say if you have any interest in what these things are like up close you really need to go visit a windfarm!  They are amazing and scarily huge!  When we were looking straight up at the turbine while standing about 12ft away from it it looked as though the turbine was moving!  It was just an optical illusion caused by the clouds passing by at a reasonable speed, but it was still pretty cool 🙂  I’m really glad we went.

Leave a Reply

