The new UK kitchen Goddess

More Gordon Ramsay than Nigella Lawson if you could hear the words coming out of my mouth this morning when I realised I forgot to leave out some of my frozen spinach last night, but hey a smoothie I wanted and a smoothie I got!

Not one to be beaten when I have my mind set on something I decided to “improvise” for breakfast/lunch (I always seem to make too much so I keep some for later). I had some salad bowls I bough at the weekend which were dated for today, and while I had originally planned on taking one to work and having one for dinner I decided to combine two of the same variety with 1 cup of skimmed milk, 1 cup of fat free natural yogurt, 2 oranges and the leftover strawberries from yesterday.  Waste not, want not! 🙂  Oh, and if you want to try this one I can give  you the list of ingredients from the salad bowl on request, but please remember that when I say a cup I am using a standard coffee mug (well, a UK standard size).

I wasn’t sure how it would turn out, and my daughter decided to pass on it before I had even whizzed the blender, but I was actually pleasantly surprised.  The salads bowls in question contained red and yellow bell peppers, so I knew it would have a sweet taste and a strong but pleasant smell.  I’m not sure there is enough green in it to call it a green smoothie, but it will do for me today!

I’ve left out a few “chunks” of frozen spinach for later.  It will be trial and error until I find out how much is needed to replace a cup or good handful of fresh spinach.

Leave a Reply

