A Final Farewell

For seventeen years I have known true, unconditional love in my life.  I have seen your eyes light up every time I enter the room, and the excited look on your face when I get home from work each day.

Your face slowly aged without me noticing it, and I was equally oblivious to the white hairs which are now so obvious.  Yet I sit here and look at you tonight wondering when this all happened.  Did it occur before you started taking longer to follow me upstairs?  Was it before or after you had problems getting up onto the bed?  To me it seemed to happen overnight, but I know that can’t be the case.  I just noticed it all at once when I knew the end was coming.

My heart is aching as I type this knowing that our time together is rapidly coming to an end.  We have less than two more days together and then it will all be over.  There will be no excited face to greet me after a hard day at work.  The bed will be cold at night.  Even watching a DVD will feel strange now that there will be an empty space beside me on the sofa.

Two more days.  It has been on the cards for a while, but it’s all so final now that I can count it in hours.  In forty-nine hours I will say farewell to your little furry face and tail that only stops wagging when you sleep.  In two days my loyal and devoted dog, the last of my four legged companions, goes to sleep for the final time.  Forever leaving her paw print on my heart.

Leave a Reply

