Bathtime bliss

Is there anything more relaxing than a nice hot bubble bath (with way too many bubbles), scented candles all around the bath, chill out music of your choice playing softly in the background?  Well not in my opinion.

Tomorrow is the big day when the bulk of my daughters belongings finally get moved in here and she officially comes home.  So tonight, in relax me a little before all the hassle and stress of co-ordinating two vans and 5 pairs of hands to pull this off smoothly I am having some “me time”.

The candles are lit, the water is running, and the MP3s are being loaded to my music player as I sit here typing this.

I’m normally a quick in, wash, back out kinda person when it comes to baths.  I would be as well with a shower really but apparently there is a problem with the water pressure in this building and although it could be worked around it would cost more than I’m willing to spend and would be a lot of hassle … but I digress.  Tonight I am aiming to be in there for at least 30 minutes.

Now 30 minutes is nothing compared to how long my daughter can take in the bath … I’m not exaggerating when I say she can be in there 2-3 hours (she tops it up with hot water every so often), but although she takes the longest of 3 generations she has still to beat my dear old mum for going for a bath and blocking out the world!  She used to go in with which ever book she was engrossed in at the time (usually something by Virginia Andrews or Catherine Cookson), a cup of tea, and her cigarettes and ashtray.  When she went in to relax she would lose herself in her book and soak away the stresses of the day.  I wish I was able to do that as easily.

I appear calm on the surface.  In fact most people I work with, went to college with, or just know in a fairly casual sense say if I was any more laid back I would be horizontal!  But So far I have come across two people who both described me in the same way.  Both said I am like a swan … all calm and graceful on top, gliding along life’s waters without barely making a ripple on the surface … but below the surface I’m kicking and paddling like f**k to maintain that image of calm and keep control!

Anyways, I’m off to chill out for a while and practice my swan-like image for tomorrow, because boy will it be put to the test then!

 

Leave a Reply

